Simac

By Simac

Timeshift

I read that if the Moon is visible then it is actually a legal requirement to Blip it. Using my Live Moon app in conjunction I can tell you that at the moment this picture was taken it was 397,832.657 km away. Now, as we all know light travels at the speed of light. Scientists have established to an incredible degree of precision that the speed is very fast. So, if we divide the distance to the Moon by the speed of light, apply a crop factor, use some trig and some squiggly mathematical symbols we arrive at a light time of 1.5 seconds(ish).
What this means is that as I was stood on my front step taking the photograph, I was actually looking back in time to a moment 1.5 seconds(ish) ago, even though I was looking at the Moon NOW. And now you are looking at a photograph of the past in the future as I haven't clicked the publish button yet...... Ooooooh I'm getting a headache!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.