Avenuette II

Felt such a wuss today. Alarm went, heard the rain battering down outside, decided it was going to be downright horrid so turned over and dozed off again for a few minutes more.

But, on the drive in, the sun rose spectacularly and there was hardly a puff of the promised blustery gales. Cheated again by the weather forecasters.

Then again it was pretty awful on the road home, where all that Friday feeling slowly evaporated like the carbon emissions from my car as I sat for minute after minute after minute watching people in their metal boxes pretend they couldn't see that everyone else was trying to squeeze a few yards nearer to their first beer of the weekend. Or that might've just been me, getting frustrated at the selfish sods that didn't know the rules of the 'let-one car-into-the-traffic-flow-then-move-on' game and the 'let's-drive-around-the-roundabout-as-fast-as-possible-in-whatever-lane-and-save-electricity-by-not-using-any-signals' team that seemed to be out in force tonight.

It actually took me 1o minutes longer to get home than if I'd been on my bike too. For the sake of my blood pressure and lowering my levels of crabbitness I'm hoping the weather's a lot better next week.

Beer's a good leveller though.

The one before.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.