Still growing!

I know I will be boring you all now, but I feel it is important to blip the stages of my Lobster moth larvae as they develop. 
This not so little fella has just shed his skin again and is now ~ 2.5 cm from head to where his body folds upwards in the flattened tail - which makes him about half his full grown size.
Luckily, with the food plant about to loose it's leaves for the winter - they are growing fast with only about another week or 10 days to go before they are large enough to pupate.
This one is quite annoyed, as when they are cross (or threatened) they bend their head back onto the flattened tail and spread out and vibrate the odd elongated front legs, while displaying the impressive mandibles! I know I would be scared if I was an insect!!
They really do get more and more odd the larger they get. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.