Choose Joy

By Energia

Training while sick

If you go to work sick you might
- arrive late
- cough over everyone
- spill coffee

I took Lyft so I would get to work on time. My driver was from Mauritius. Mauritius is a cool outlier. I may not have learned WHY - that would surely take multiple political scientists, conferences, and publications - but I did learn that it is majority Hindu. 

I apologized at the end for being late and explained that I'd taken a Lyft to get there on time but then distracted my driver with questions about Mauritius and he missed the exit. By that point the Vice President was well aware that I was quite ill and I believe she forgave me. 

How cool is Mauritius? Well for one thing it has nearly full electrification and the utility is solvent. Ok, no one but me finds that interesting. I wrote a report earlier this year on setting electricity tariffs and I wanted a positive example. I found this one. I couldn't find out WHY Mauritius is run so well. Someone asked me and my response was that I did not know, it has been colonized like everyone else, it isn't Wakanda, it doesn't have vibranium, I don't get it. 

Tomorrow we have an office retreat. It begins at 8 AM in downtown DC. All the adults reading this recognize that I'm fortunate to have a good job, with a good company. 

The training today was in an interesting location that had a "hospitality" center on the ground floor. This picture is from that area. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.