Border Tails

By Swannie

Cadger’s brig.

This afternoon on my way back to the lab after all my collections, I passed through Biggar as usual. Way back in my childhood, I used to spend a week of my summer holidays with my cousins in Biggar, so I knew of this bridge of the Biggar Water and knew it was known as the Cadger’s Brig. Tonight, I looked up the origins of the name and Legend has it that William Wallace once crossed over it dressed as a cadger, or beggar, on his way to spy on English soldiers who were camped nearby.


After work, I had a follow up appointment with my GP for my sciatica. It isn’t any worse than it was a couple of months ago, so hopefully it will just gradually go away. However, he wasn’t pleased that I hadn’t been to see him about my coughing and wheezing. I put it down to just being part of having a cold, but apparently it’s unstable asthma, so I’m now on steroids - joy!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.