Compton Verney

I felt a bit better today after a good night's sleep.  It was a lovely sunny day and we thought a short car ride out to Compton Verney might be nice, Ann could always run me back if I relapsed.  We took a bit of lunch and had a walk to the cafe where I had a peppermint tea, I'm beginning to like that, then we joined a guided tour of the Naples galleries, paintings of Naples during 1600 - 1800.

A gentle walk in the grounds then and back to the car.  I survived all that and am still feeling OK, here's hoping.

I quite like these seed heads I saw there, thanks for Cailleach for hosting today's Wild Wednesday.  The extra is An Eruption of Vesuvius by Moonlight by Pierre-Jacques Volaire painted in 1774. The guide pointed out that if people were watching from that distance they would have been vaporized, still it makes for a good picture.  Nearly every picture had Vesuvius in the distance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.