horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Spiders taking their first flight

It's been at least a couple of months since I've been able to make time at work to get out at lunchtime with the camera. The weather forecast was such that I thought it was about time I didn't take my lunch at the desk...

The scrubland where I normally go to with the big wildlife lens harboured the warmth of the day, and I took a closer look on noticing strands of spider web streaming numerously from plant tops. There a myriad of baby spiders, 2 - 3mm across, were climbing to the tops, facing into the wind, before releasing a strand of silk that carried them off suddenly and immediately into the great, big outside world.

Fascinating to watch, this individual caught a moment before take-off.

Still frantically busy, but time to start making space for life again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.