Under surveillance

Do you see what I see?

I'd slipped through the fence beyond the house and there in the middle of the next field lounged a certain gingery gentleman, keeping watch, sniffing the air, drumming his fingers paws....waiting, watching, for my new ducks to be released, for Chicken Tonight. He wasn't alarmed at the sight of me or Casey (whose vision is in any case poor), he just moved unhurriedly up to the wall, loped alongside it, paused and then jumped on top for a final bold stare before disappearing into the thicket behind. He'll be back.

Can I blame him? He's a carnivore. Indeed, we ourselves had chicken tonight: a Chinese dish called Strange Flavoured Chicken, courtesy of resident chef Huw. It's also known as Bang-Bang Chicken. Now, if I had a gun we could have had Bang-Bang Fox. But I don't, and foxes will be foxes.

The chickens had an early bedtime today. The ducks are for the time being still safely incarcerated. But we're under surveillance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.