Windows into my Life

By Tessa

Birds of a Feather

We took the family to a lookout point close to Paritutu rock for lunch. I usually dislike seagulls because they're always scavenging and grizzling at each other. However recently I have found myself fascinated by wings. It started while I was going through cemeteries looking at the wonderful sculptures that use to be made for headstones.
Angles with grand wings are a favorite thing for me to capture.
So while watching these birds squawking and gathering for the crumbs we would be leaving behind I saw them in a new light.. Wings are a true engineering miracle!
When you think of how long it took mankind to come up with wings that could fly people and then compare them to the ones we see in the natural world even now Modern airplanes seem less impressive. We can paint our giant winged metal machines with logos and pictures but they will never be as beautiful as the feathers of even the humble seagull!
You can see

More seagulls here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.