Impact

The crash woke me out of a deep sleep. It could only have been the sound of a meteorite hitting the ridge above me, up by the Hanging Stone. The power of celestial attraction resides up there. Few people disagree that it has a very special energy. Quickly dressed and out the door, I could clearly see the site of its landing, the molten rock glowing and casting light through the smoke and dust surrounding the impact crater. It took me just five minutes to climb to the quarry and by then the object had already disappeared from view, burnt out and melted into the ground, only the faint smell of burnt bracken remaining. It was as if it had never happened.

The word magic is overused, but this was a magical day from beginning to end. I don't think I've ever seen the Dales look more beautiful, the colours of the trees so bright but also muted in the soft and mysterious light that enveloped the landscape. 

And after yesterday's lethargy, I found myself spontaneously invigorated. These things are beyond my understanding. But I wasn't complaining today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.