Angella

By Angella

Weather Monitor

I'm on my own today so it fell to me to record the weather statistics. I took this picture after recording the data fromthe Stevenson Screen, otherwise my body temperature might afect the readings on these delicate instruments. They are very accurate, but they are also quite hard to read, hence the magnifying glass.

If you look close you might see the unusual sock on one of the thermometers. It's not unusual for a thermometer to wear a sock dipped in water. It gives the wet temperture, which is compared to the dry temeprature to see how much mouisture is in the air. What is unusual is that the sock is hand knitted. The bought ones were ridiculously hard to get on, so I worked out the size and knitted this in cotton thread. Don't tell anybody though as it is rather unorthodox!

When I did the other readings I was a little concerned about the liquid in the rain gauge. Experience told me that it was not rain but dew. When I looked at our secondary rain gauge this is what I saw. It looks like the fog has frozen onto the outside. There was also ice on top of the Stevenson Screen, even though it did not get that cold overnight. I think it is (or was) the fog freezing. This confirmed my suspicions about my rain observations (I think!)

Doing close observations of the weather can be very interesting.It makes you think about what you are recording and look more closely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.