misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Unexpected Events

I rode my scooter which is also my gardening carry-all out beyond my back garden to where the neighbour thoroughly mows her lawn. I got stuck in the mud, as you can see.
I pushed it back onto my uncut lawn of about 3 to 4 inches and rolled away safely to the front garden. Now, it is more and more rain.
I expect tomorrow to have a let up because my friend is coming over to complete the autumn clean up with me.
We have the first frost alert tonight. The houseplants summer vacation on the front deck has come to an end!  Every pot is to get moved indoors or covered until the next frost.
How things work here is after three killing frosts, the Indians arrive with their colourful and warm bright Summer. Then we will see the dramatic leaves changing on the surrounding hills. And, of course, snow flurries, often by Halloween.
That's the usual weather pattern for Central NY State. With the current climate change going on, this may not be the case. It will be interesting to see what happens.
Also, the wonderful French drain in my basement is no longer working during this rainy time. I hope flooding does not overtake the basement. My genius contractor who installed the drain 4 years ago is overwhelmed with the fact that he is to be a father again Monday at around 7:30 a.m. by C Section. His eldest girl is 20. This is an unexpected "gift" of another daughter. He has a 15-year-old daughter living at home. He admits he wished for a son, yet the surprise of a baby at this time of life is almost too much.
I may need to find another contractor to look to the French drain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.