Particles & Waves

By EdwardFenner

Monumental Restoration

Monument to Multiculturalism or the naked guy with pigeons stands outside Toronto's Union Station. It's been there since 1985 and has courted some minor controversy because he's a naked guy. Ugh. Anyway, two men with torches high up on a cherry picker got my attention. They were torching the statue. At first I thought they were welding the birds back on or strengthening them or something. However, one of the guys was brushing a liquid onto the heated metal so I'm thinking it's some kind of restoration or hot-paint job or whatever to keep it in tip-top shape. I didn't stay to see if they were going to touch up his, uh, manhood. That would have made a far more interesting photo but I had a train to catch.

Read about the sculpture here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.