Skyroad

By Skyroad

House

Snow seems to have fully departed (for now anyway). Beautiful cool, clear, bright afternoon and evening, followed by a whopper of a moon, the darker blotches as clear as continents. Something about this made me stop the car and pull over. The shadow of a new house on an old wall? The gorgeous texture of honey-bright granite? The edge of an unidentified memory, heavily perfumed with nostalgia? Something like that. Any Dubliners out there know where this is? I used to pass this wall every day on the 46A on my way to Art School in the 1970s (there's a clue).

NB
I have just come back from Slumdog Millionaire. Fu*king fantastic. I do have some reservations about the last third of the movie. It loses some of its momentum for me, mainly because the Cinderella story becomes just too clotted with sentimentality, too weighted and predictable. And there are too many night-time scenes so the gorgeous saturated blur of colour is sacrificed for more sober 'adult' hues. Ironically, the childhood scenes seemed far more 'realistic' to me; they had more bite, more sensuality (shit, you could practically smell everything, including the shit). Worth seeing just for the first half or so, which is more moving and cinematically (and photographically) exciting than 'City of God' which was exciting enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.