sylko

You may remember that 2018 is the year when I aim to make my first ever quilt, using the hand-stitched English piecing technique I learned at school about a hundred years ago.

Here it is so far.

I've been stitching the hexagons together using the big reel of Sylko Ivory thread which I used for my wedding dress.(I have never forgotten what the vicar said about my dress being ivory, not white. If it was me now, I might well have walked out of the wedding. But then if I was getting married now, it would all be very different. Except for the man, of course).

Anyway...the ivory thread has run out, so I went to my sewing box and all my other reels are 100% polyester. Some pretty colours, but rubbish to sew with. I tried to buy some more Sylko cotton, only to discover that it isn't made any longer! I got all nostalgic about my Grandma's sewing box and then I thought..there must be a lot of people with old sewing boxes and reels of thread they no longer use..

So I put in a request on Dunscore Freecycle. That was yesterday and this afternoon I cycled up the road to fetch 7 reels from a very kind person called Kirsten.

The project can now go on :-)

For those of you who have read this and understood what I'm on about, take a look at THIS!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.