Dreaming of travels

My whole life has been about travelling, RAF and then with Nortel Networks, constantly going to different places. Sometimes it's been for a year or two and more often, after the RAF, it was for anything from a few days to a month at a time.
I always said that when I retired I would do some travelling to places I hadn't been to but in the 9 years since my redundancy/retirement in 2009 I've only managed a trip to Malta in 2012 and Oman in 2014. 
I've been to Belgium twice on the bike, but I've never considered Continental Europe as 'Abroad', and I have been quite some distances on the bike in the UK.
Hot countries are beckoning but I haven't actually made any plans yet, maybe never will. We'll have to see.

In the photo are some Berlitz, and other, language books that have helped me out from time to time, my little decorative Kunjar Arabic knife, Sibha (Islamic prayer beads), sand from Masirah, Oman, and a representation of an Arabic coffee pot. We have a couple of real ones in the attic that we used to use when we lived in Saudi.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.