Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Is this a record?

My take on the Mono Monday theme of Play, but actually something I don't play very often. Apparently vinyl is coming back into fashion although I have to say that I don't really understand why, bearing in mind that I grew up with all my music on vinyl and remember all the attendant scratches, hiss and jumping. There are some tracks which even now, when I hear them on CD or the radio, I still expect to jump at the place my record did and almost surprise me when they don't.

This is one of my originals, the 1969 Pink Floyd album 'Ummagumma'. The track playing is 'Grantchester Meadows', soon to be followed by the rather snappily titled track 'Several species of small furry animals gathered together in a cave and grooving with a Pict'. I don't think it made the charts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.