FTT1937

By FTT1937

Golden Jubilee hospital.

I'm now admitted to the Golden Jubilee hospital. Saw my surgeon earlier this afternoon. He's ready to do my bypass operation which is scheduled for tomorrow afternoon; and if absolutely necessary to replace a valve too. I'm likely to be here for 7 to 10 days, it seems.
It will not be much fun for the next few weeks, and the rehabilitation will last for some months. But I couldn't be in better hands. I'm incredibly in awe of just how good, how thorough and how professional everyone seems to be.
My window here looks out over the Clyde, and I can see the helipad. But let's hope no-one need to be helicoptered in. So I'm in contented frame of mind just now. It will be Thursday before I am really with it following the surgery and that's when I will need support as I am likely to be pretty down then. But my wife and children are amazing and will get me through it. And I have been stunned by how many friends have sent their best wishes. I truly am fortunate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.