Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Fairy Glen

Took myself off to Wales for the day.  I hoped for some fireworks at sunrise so set off early enough to be at Llangollen and Castell Dina Bran with half an hour to spare.  Frustratingly the weather did not oblige, though I did have an enjoyable chat with a student who had decided to walk up from the town for the first time.

Then it was on to Fairy Glen, a small gorge just outside Betws Y Coed.  I'd seen photographs of the location and got a feel for what to expect in advance.  The classic shot isolates the gorge as the River Conwy passes through it, typically with a portrait orientation (see extra).  While I took many shots I liked the wide view, including the tree on the left hand side and it also allowed me to enter the image into this week's wide Wednesday challenge.

Finally I headed the dozen miles further to Llyn Ogwen and the surrounding mountains of the Carneddau and Glyderau.  I'd often seen images taken from the location in the extra but wanted to see it for myself.  While in the area I headed to the bottom of Llanberis Pass to take in the Snowdon range.  All in all a very enjoyable day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.