Coffee table

The monowheel vehicle turned and rolled away down the far side of the ridge, picking up speed as it descended towards a dry valley, then accelerated smoothly away in a trail of chill, falling dust.

Another day passes. I’m sitting on the couch, stove lit, dinner eaten, darkness complete and I have no photo from the day. I consider the books and magazines that have accumulated on the table.

Reforesting Scotland - an organisation I’ve been distantly involved with since my tree planting days in the early nineties.

Borders Organic Gardeners - a group o that I’ve participated in since my days running Acme Organics (even though they’re mostly in the eastern Borders).

Andy Wightman - an influential and likeable campaigner for land rights in Scotland.

Then I go back to reading Against A Dark Background - a page turning, sci-fi, adventure novel by Iain M Banks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.