Journey Through Time

By Sue

Decisions, decisions

A lot of interesting photos, but picked the cows, because everybody likes cows.  If you want to see more of our day trip:  
https://www.flickr.com/photos/37501809@N08/albums/72157699348202842

Bill and I took my aunt on a day trip to the east of us.  Bill and I had done this trip a year ago and I thought my aunt would really enjoy it as she wanted to go for a ride in the country.  This was a good trip for her as it didn't require much walking.  So this is a big circle drive that is over 200 miles long!  We left our house, then picked up my aunt where she lives then jumped on the I-84 freeway to go east to Hood River.  We crossed over the Columbia River then went east on that highway to the little town of Lyle.  We had lunch and then took the road that goes up the Klickitat River, winding it's way up and up and up to the top of the hills.  Turn to the right and you'll end up in Goldendale, WA.  Turn to the left like we did and go to Glenwood, a tiny place with a general store and a stop for something to drink and ice cream.  Then on to Conboy National Wildlife Refuge for a bit of a look around.  There are trails and such, but that wasn't for us today.  Back in the car and followed the road down and down to the farmland and then down and down to White Salmon, WA and to the highway back to the bridge, over the Columbia to the freeway and then stopping at Cascade Locks for dinner.  Never even took a photo there.  Silly me.  I think we were all getting tired.  Lots of driving for Bill, but he was a good sport.  The fall colors were pretty and we really enjoyed the fine weather.  It won't last much longer, nor should it as we certainly need rain.   Dropped Joan off at her place and then a pretty sunset made me wish I was someplace that would afford me a better view that traveling on the freeways to home.  Bill is happily watching the first basketball game of the season and I've been fiddling with photos.  I'm done with this now, that's for sure.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.