Blush response

By Esper

Starters Orders

Of course I didn't take this photograph but I couldn't resist sharing the story associated with it because it encapsulates the magical spirit of the marathon. I asked a lady if she could take this photograph for me when I was on my way to the starting block. After she had taken the photograph she asked me my name. I told her and thought nothing more of it. Later, when I was passing through Namba I heard a voice calling, "Steven! Steven!" It was the lady who had taken this photograph for me. So kind!

Anyway, I was little disappointed today because I didn't beat my fastest time. I finished in 5 hours and 2 minutes. The reason was I got cramp around the 35 kilometre point and had to walk whenever the pain threatened to take me out of the marathon completely. So at least I finished which, apparently, only 0.01% of the world's population have ever - or are able - to do. I always tell myself that to prevent myself from becoming too dispirited.

It was a slow, stiff walk back to the station but now, after a hot bath and a nice cup of tea, I feel like my old self again. Was it worth the pain? Absolutely, without a doubt. Priceless. Now, hopefully, I will be selected for the Lake Biwa Marathon in March 2013. Another chance to beat my fastest time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.