Wilfred Owen sculpture unveiled

Backblip

Wilfred Owen, the WW1 poet was born in Oswestry and died just days before the end of the war. Yesterday a life size bronze statue of him was unveiled  in Cae Glas Park, made by a local artist.  It's a beautiful sculpture, he's standing there surrouned by papers with his writings on.

There were hundreds of people there and we were sent where to stand. Unfortunately there was a beech hedge in front of me so the photos of the actual ceremony are unusable  as I'm not very tall! My blip is taken afterwards with the sculptor looking up at it. 

There was music and readings before the statue was unveiled by the mayor and there were various local dignitaries and elderly representatives of the military with their flags in attendance. The Last Post was played and a minute's silence observed. 

Last night we went to visit an aunt, cousin and family. My granddaughter enjoyed herself and the adults enjoyed catching up. It's a small world - it turns out that my aunt is a friend of my gardener's mother and aunt. Shropshire is a very connected place!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.