Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

My first proper Saturday morning at home since moving in. I explored the High Street in the sunshine, which I have done before, but on Sundays. I specifically wanted to visit Emmaus which closes before I am home from work on weekdays and does not open on a Sunday. We have two Emmaus shops locally, one at the Rochester end of the High Street and one at the Chatham end and I visited both, as well as Demelza, which has similar opening hours to Emmaus but does not sell furniture.

I digress, in the first shop I went into this morning, after ambling along the road enjoying some gorgeous architecture, I found the squashiest, most comfortable, pre-loved armchair imaginable. It was a real Goldilocks moment, although I suspected it was probably too large to get into my flat. I hadn't my tape measure with me but a kind member of staff lent me theirs from behind the counter. I went home and took measurements of my front door, and also my windows when fully open, just in case. Sadly I think there is no chance of this magnificent piece ever gracing my interior. I tried others, smaller, in other shops but none made my body rejoice like the first had. I shall have to find out if there is any way it can be disassembled. I doubt it, but I don't think I will have another chance to even make enquiries for another fortnight. Another weekend of visiting away from home is rapidly taking shape.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.