... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Egyptian Goose: up close and personal

Better in large!

I'm feeling rather better today; grrr, evil viruses...

I visited Clapham Common this afternoon and there were lots of Canadian geese, Egyptian geese, and gulls on the boating pond. The lights wasn't fantastic most of the time, but the sun came out for a few short bursts and I got quite a few photos with which I was pleased.
I've put up a photo of an Egyptian goose in flight (though there are at least four of "my" fledglings juvenile geese on the boating pond, it isn't a photo of one of them...) on my Blipfolio here, but have chosen to blip this close-up shot, because there is more detail to be seen in large! I think it is the closest shot I've taken of an adult Egyptian goose's head. The sun was out at this particular moment, and their eyes simply glow when it's bright; the colours here are unenhanced!
This is one of the adult geese that has recently taken up residence at the boating pond; I'm not sure where they're from, but some of them (including this one) are very tame, and will come over if you pretend to have food, or even if they simply suspect you might have food. One poor lady left the common after the geese and gulls swarmed (very much en masse) over to surround the bench on which she'd just sat down. They were definitely after food, and she definitely didn't have any. Perhaps it was because she was carrying a bag... In any case, they followed her even when she stood up and moved away looking rather concerned.
I don't imagine (based on her demeanour, and the urgency of her egress) that she'll be visiting the pond (or watching "The Birds") again any time soon.

Sigh I think they're super-cute.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.