DIY legs

Do you know what I mean?  When you've been crouched down too long at an awkward angle and your inner thighs positively zing? 

My inner thighs positively zing.  And not in a good way! 

With a day pass to the Dales, I don't dwell on it.  Rich tells me they'll warm up and I set off having delivered the prerequisite tea in bed.  I have DIY-leg options.  I'd like to go around to Pen-y-ghent - I've not done that for a while but a shorter Malham Moor is an option.  

I've just passed the decision point here.  I'm not exactly motoring but it's one stunning day that isn't going to be cut short!  It's fairly still, the sun is shining and the light is picking out the skeletal frames of the newly winterised trees in a majestic way.  

There's no-one about either. On a Saturday! I conclude that if I was on a cycle tour, my legs would probably be zinging and you'd just get on with it.  

I don't stop for any more photos after this as the cloud closes in a little and a headwind starts up.  I make choices about which route to head back on as the mist over Pen-y-ghent skims lightly over the summit.  I'm hungry.  Settle is closer, but that doesn't half mean a hill right after I've stopped - on very possibly seized legs.  So, I make a choice to turn left before dropping into Langcliffe and take in the last hill of the day over to Malham before food.  

Standing up, I know I don't really have the desire to trundle up this one seated (too much effort on aching muscles) but wonder, a little nervously, how long I've got left before I need to plonk back into my saddle.  A few wheel spins, on less than smooth tarmac, and I'm safely on a steady incline enjoying magnificent views of Malham Moor.  It's stunning!

I know I really only have a whoosh down to Malham and a warm up of a couple of miles at most before hitting Airton for lunch.  The sun comes out again after I've re-fuelled and caffeinated.  My legs don't seize entirely and I'm on my way back now in winter boots and short sleeves on a tailwind.  When you've got your clothing right on days like these, it really is a joy to be out from start to finish.

I note a peculiar feeling as I'm nearing the final twenty miles home; my legs are positively exhausted but the rest of my body isn't wiped out.  I don't remember the last time I've been able to disconnect a section of my body like that.  I think it's perhaps the benefit of getting a half decent level of iron back in my system.  

The day doesn't finish there.  Liz comes round for tea and we head out for a comedy club night in Ilkley which on the whole, entertains us perfectly.  Apart from Bessie leaving a triple present for us on the stairs, the day is a delight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.