Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Lazy (for some) Sunday

I went to the gym this morning after Becky and Daniel had picked Archie up. They've been so good - every time, they try throwing a frisbee for him, and he rarely brings it back, but they keep trying. Today, they said, he brought it back loads of times!

He was just back home with them, slightly grubby, when Elizabeth came to pick him up. She didn’t mind that he was less than pristine, and they set off for another big walk. What a lucky dog! AND he came back home, about 5.30, as clean as a whistle. Or even cleaner. Bonus!!

I went to the gym after Archie had departed, I had 40 minutes till a builder was due to come round to look at the kitchen job. My surgeon came in again - that's two days in a row. Last time I tried to avoid him, but today he came over to say hello, and ask how I was. I presume he didn’t want the long version, so I just said, 'Fine, thanks.'

I cycled for twenty minutes through the French countryside, and had just started walking through the Sierra Nevada on the cross trainer, when I got a message from JR to say that the builder was already there - he was early.

A very nice (Polish) chap, who asked all the right questions, and thought of stuff we hadn’t thought of. He'll give us a quote.

JR went off to the supermarket in the afternoon, while I watched a bit of NFL - which was incomprehensible - so I read the Sunday papers and downloaded a couple of Kindle books instead. A neighbour came over with her news, I lit the fire, and then Elizabeth came back with a tired Archie and we shared a cheeky little French rosé and some even cheekier cheese.

Here's Archie at the cafe in the Hermitage, and no, that's not real grass. Photo by Elizabeth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.