Think, try, share

By JonBusby

Bounce

This was an experiment. Part of my project to build a cheap and portable portrait studio, what I have called My Pop-up Portrait Studio.

I recently bought my first reflector, 5 in 1, which includes, white, black, silver and gold.

I had read an article this week showing the effect of firing a speed lite directly up onto the ceiling then the light bouncing back onto the reflector, (which Lois is holding in front of her), then off that back up onto her face.

For this one I used gold. I tried silver previously but it was just too harsh.

It's an interesting and subtle effect. There is still some shadow below Lois' chin but it is less harsh. I did minimal post processing, the only thing I added was a vignette.

You can pick up a reflector off Amazon for a few quid. Great fun wrestling it back in to its carrier bag.

Nice, after the last month or so, to get my camera mojo back.

I hope you had a good weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.