La vida de Annie

By Annie

In the supermarket.

The only outing today was to the sensory hell which is supermarket shopping on a Sunday. #1D needed ingredients for #1GS's packed lunches for the week, at half-term football camp.
#1D was recently involved in a minor traffic accident, in which a van in front of her lost a ladder from the roof, which hit the car and caused her to brake sharply. The car behind rammed her and the following cars also ran into each other. The van driver denies responsibility and the police are taking no action as it was an accident. Although no-one was seriously hurt, #1D has wrenched her shoulders and back and is off work, having physio and painkillers. I do feel for her, and can understand any grumpiness that may ensue. You never do stop worrying about your kids, even when they're adult with kids of their own.
Stress levels today were at record levels for several reasons: I'm so used to my quiet life in foreign climes, that I'd forgotten how loud noises, confrontation and multiple sources of sensory input cause my brain to short-circuit, and neurofatigue kicks in with a vengeance. I have come to terms with this is how I am now, and have (mostly) stopped grieving for who I used to be before the SAH, but it still hurts when people dismiss what I still struggle with, or think I'm totally fine now and just using it as an excuse for getting upset. #2S gets it, and is good at supplying a comforting hug when needed.
I also got to speak to #1S this evening on the phone, in a precious few hours of time off from his current job, which he's loving but finding quite intense and overwhelming. He's involved in the new Downton Abbey film production, which sounds fantastic. Hope to see it when it's out, hopefully next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.