Peter's Ponderings

By Lofty

Battlesbridge

The eagle eyed regular readers will have noticed that this is in fact not a crumpet smeared with peanut butter and topped with a rasher of (British) Smokey bacon.

I did promise it, and I'm sorry, but I did in actual fact make it, try it and even quite liked it!! Thank you to Corin for the inspiration! Give it a go!!

4 peanutty bacon crumpets later, and I hopped onto my mountain bike for 24 mile pootle into the Essex countryside. My destination - Battlesbridge - surely the coolest sounding village in Essex!

I use village in the broadest sense of the word, as I don't remember seeing any actual houses in Battlesbridge. Instead, all the buildings seem to have been converted to 'antique' shops. 80 in total! Including 'The Old Granary' - a 5 story mammoth of a building on the banks of the River Crouch.

My blip today is taken in the courtyard of The Old Granary - a veritable treasure trove of blipping opportunities, but I settled on this - nestled in between a range of seriously creepy stone goblins and a rusty wheelbarrow - a slightly knackered sign board squeaking away in the wind!

Other Notes and Quotes

- Total number of jigsaw pieces placed: 93 ... That's a big fat 0 for the day...It's HARD!!!

- Next door's 2 year old called me "Daddy" today... Coupled with yesterday's incident, I'm worried I'm going to get a reputation!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.