Madhatter

By Madhatter

Hats off

My last day before the removal company arrive, and I made time to visit the newly opened hat exhibition at the toy museum in Basel. The hats are displayed on one floor, over 300 in total. There are very detailed information booklets available to give a detailed overview of the exhibits. The hats are beautifully displayed, and the information booklet is excellent. I was really excited to see the exhibits by Michaela Temperli, the only Swiss milliner I know and Eugenie van Oirschott, who I took a course with. However, what surprised me was the lack of information about Swiss millinery heritage, and the lack of exhibits from “local” Swiss, French or German milliners. I’d definitely recommend a visit, though imagine it could get quite crowded at weekends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.