Rissa's World

By MarissaMichelle

Tamaki of a hundred lovers

I won't even attempt to remember what we did during our sessions today, I know I took notes and that all the information is in our handbook and I feel like that is good enough for now. What I do remember is that the food is surprisingly good at the hotel and that we had a fantastic evening out. Well it was fantastic until dinner, then I crashed and was ready to go to bed, it was maybe 7 at the time... but it was still a good evening. What I did learn (and should have probably already known) was that New Zealand has lots of volcanic activity and that there are 48 volcanic cones across Auckland. And of course the best view of the city is from the top of the cones, so before dinner we walked up Mount Eden. Auckland is an odd looking city with very few multi-storey buildings, the vast majority of residents live in single family homes. But the landscape is striking. I can not wait to start taking day trips to the fills and islands that surround the city. 

On another note the Maori name for Auckland is Tamaki-makau-rau, which translates to Tamaki of a hundred lovers. This refers to the network of waterways that make the area so fertile and provided travel routs in all directions.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.