Twoees

By Twoees

Football.

Today was a day of firsts.
It was my first trip to Liverpool.
It was the first time I watched a professional football match live.

Mark invited me to go and see a football match with his family.The football was fun but cold. Everyone Mark has always said I should go and see a football match because I would enjoy the atmosphere. I always thought I wasn't missing out on much, but this is not true. Firstly, there was such a mix of accents shouting around us. Secondly, there was an amazing man with a cap on who gave no response when anything exciting happened during the match. Thirdly, there was the cutest kid ever. And finally, the Security guards were lying down on the pitch. It looked like they were trying to sunbathe in the rain.
I am not a big football fan, but I did get more enjoyment out of it live and I can conclude that Mark was correct about the atmosphere. All in all a great day out.

While the football was more fun than I was expecting it was not the most surprising part of the day. Just before getting to the grounds I found out that Mark's Grandad was stationed in Latimer for a year. The place where he stayed is now a hotel and I worked there for 2-3 years. It was very interesting to hear about how the trains used to work.

A happy coincidence. And a lovely day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.