Two Milkweed Pods in the Morning Sun

One of my glorious, weird hobbies this time of year is taking photos of milkweed pods in good (usually morning) light. Milkweed, as you may know, is the primary source of food for monarch caterpillars.

I often spot stands of milkweed growing along the road. They especially catch my eye if they are back lit by beautiful light. They almost seem like lamps. And then I laugh to myself, thinking, Let the milkweed pods be the lamps that light your way!

On this particular morning, I made a quick stop at Bernel Road Park, which is located conveniently along one of the little roads I travel on to get to work. And there they were: pods, with lots of seeds!

The milkweed pods were looking especially fine, the light was gorgeous, and the blue sky was . . . well, just LOOK for yourself. It was fab! When we talk about autumn skies, this is what we mean. THIS, right here!

I almost imagined that the pods looked like little birds getting ready for take-off into that sky. And then, of course, I scattered some seeds so that more milkweed will grow - I did it for myself, because I love to watch the floof scatter - but mostly, I did it for the butterflies!  :-)

There are two milkweed pods in this strange shot. So let's let the song be about the number two. Here are Rod Stewart and Tina Turner, with It Takes Two.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.