everybody needs

After a few tests with different cells and (possibly for the first time) a power supply, it would seem that my second and final cassette Walkman is dead. I would have bought it in 1994 or 1995 - it was in the winter during my first year and the first unit was returned (to Argos on North Bridge) when it turned out to be faulty. It will always be outshone by the Aiwa HSG35 it replaced, whose headphones were better than anything I've used since. With this one I tried the rubbish Fontapia things it came with, some Aiwa earbuds from Richer Sounds, the really cheap Labtec things sold for £3 from the computer lab and my dad's big brown Koss headphones, but would have stopped using this around 2004 when my phone became MP3-capable, before I discovered the wee rubber-baffled Sennheisers which usually live in my work bag.

I was planning on fishing it out and dusting it off to digitise some of the contents of the audio tapes I've been guarding for twenty-odd years, but shall have to find something else. I would have liked a wee listen through this again, though, particularly of something like Drugstore (the indelible background of working in the library in the late spring of 1995) or Star or American Thighs or Hips and Makers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.