horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Getting really cross

Well that was a brute of a course. Muddy; up and down all over the place; off camber straights; oh, and a 100m section of sand. Cross at the Beach in Irvine, brilliant day. And I didn't finish last either, in fact towards the end I was actually catching up with a guy to lap him! Okay, that says nothing about me, given I was once more slow, but what the hey...

One off, with my left knee smacking the bars, but again one hell of a fun day out on the bike. And thanks to my mate Steve for the photo, and for the company in the car on the drive order and back.

I remain in awe of the guys who can ride this stuff as quickly as they can. Much like my first cyclocross race earlier in the year if found the technical bike handling is there, correcting slips and slides and being able to must let go when a massive bombhole drops away from your front wheel, but what I lack is the cardio-vascular back up to make it all happen a little more quickly. As with my first race that initial lap and a half had me thinking I was going to die, but then settled into a rhythm of my own which saw me though the hour.

And I didn't come last.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.