Red-Bellied Woodpecker

I had lots of errands to run today, so in the middle, I stopped at Croydon Creek to see if I could get a quick blip.   

My first stop was to vote in the 2018 midterm elections. I will be in Costa Rica on election day and we are going to NYC tomorrow for a long weekend so today was the only day for me to vote.  It is the first day of early voting here in Maryland and I arrived about 1/2 hour after the polls opened.  There were more people with the same idea than I have ever seen, even on election day.  The parking lots were full requiring people to park along the surrounding streets.  There was a line for each step in the process but everyone there was enthusiastic and willing to take however long was needed to cast their vote. 

When I stopped at Croyden Creek, the bird feeders were empty and there were hardly any birds around.  I waited a few minutes and then I heard the woodpecker call. He flew right over to a tree nearby, grabbed this nut out of a hole in the tree and flew off.  Blip sorted.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.