The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Calne (Thursday 25th October 2018)

The other day I heard of a swan that had been seen on the Marden in Calne town centre, the first in a number of years. I hadn't been past The Wharf on my trips into town recently so hadn't come across it, but today after a trip to the shops I made my way to investigate.
At first I saw nothing apart from the usual mallards, but then I saw a woman calling to something from a bridge and carrying some proper bird feed. I approached her and enquired about the swan and saw that she was calling to a cygnet that was in the distant shadows.
It turned out that it was she who had discovered the cygnet walking on land in the town centre a week or so ago and had coaxed it into the canal and river where they co-exist at The Wharf. She had been feeding it three times a day and generally keeping tabs on it, and of course it soon approached her for its free meal.
Nobody knows where it came from and it seems reluctant to fly. There is a family of seven cygnets further along the river at Quemerford Mill less than a mile further on so possibly it was one of those. The light was poor as it was 1700 hr by then and most of my shots were blurry, but this is the best one.

L.
25.10.2018 (2036 hr)

Blip #2785 (#2535 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.60-18.3.10)
Consecutive Blip #008
Blips/Extras In 2018 #227/265 + #73/100 Extras)
Day #3136 (610 gaps from 26.3.10)
LOTD #1927 (#1768 + 159 in archived blips)

Calne series
Swan series
Canals series
Wilts and Berks Canal series

Taken with Panasonic/Leica DMC-LX100 M4/3 compact

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Sugar Pie DeSanto - Going Back To Where I Belong  (1960)
Cerys Matthews took over the Radio 2 Blues Show from Paul Jones not long ago and has kept up the high level of quality he brought to the show with a very reliable selection of music and guests. I knew Sugar Pie De Santo from her stay with Chess in the sixties, sometimes teamed with Etta James, but until Cerys Matthews played it I hadn't heard this single, recorded for Veltone in her native Oakland CA, just before signing to Chess in Chicago IL. This was also included on her first album for Chess/Checker in 1961. I haven't been able to identify the harmony vocalist on this.

One year ago:
Fluffy 1216 hr

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.