Mike Leigh

A happy day, oh yes, firstly getting my underside power washed and then settling inside to start deconstructing the electrics. A most lovely collection of wires to be teased out and tested. I may have to get an electric heater aboard as this could take me some months.
Later, up to the Filmhouse to see Peterloo, Mike Leigh’s latest work - on the famous 1819 massacre. And the old chap was in attendance for an excellent Q&A afterwards. 
To the film itself, I was struck by just how much effort had gone into making it look authentic - and how beautiful the interior cinematography was. And Leigh described how the speeches of the leading actors and accents had been researched as far as possible. I was slightly irked by the cartoon villains that he made the magistrates and authorities into - no more than buffoons really: that felt like pandering to today’s sensibilities. And of course the event (the original, not the screening) led to the foundation of the Guardian - I think they liked it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.