Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

Eggs and plastic bottles

As I get older I find myself becoming more rebellious, so much so that I have put all of my eggs in one basket! Now, how daring is that?
In fact this isn't a basket but rather an Imbenge, a Zulu beer pot cover from South Africa. Traditionally the Zulu peoples made Imbenge to close their earthenware Ukamba (neck-less) beer pots to protect the fermenting sorghum beer from dust and flies. 
The lids were originally made by weaving grass and Ilala palm fibre. But in  more recent times, old telephone wires were also used and in some cases replaced the natural fibres, as is the case of our "basket"

The extra involves that scourge of modern life, the discarded plastic bottle. The photograph was taken at Umm Al-Jimal, an ancient basalt-built settlement  in the Jordanian desert. Among the ruins there are a number of large and deep reservoirs or cisterns. Life belts fashioned from old plastic water bottles tied together at the neck are thoughtfully provided for anyone unfortunate enough to fall in! Now, that is what I call inspired recycling!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.