Perfectpotus

By Perfectpotus

Fred's House

I spotted this interesting looking house a few days ago but didn't have time to stop so I went back today for a closer look.  I couldn't get a photo of the whole building because of cars parked in front of it but this is probably the best half.  I was also intrigued by the blue plaque and hoped it would explain more about this fascinating building.  I was right - it did (see extra).  

This Grade II listed house belonged to the late Fred Dibnah who was a steeplejack and TV personality from Bolton.  After he passed away the house and artefacts were bought by an enthusiast and opened as a museum.  It was forced to close this year as the current owner was no longer able to run it.  A number of Fred's machinery and tools have been sold off and the owner is currently running a competition to win the house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.