Seasonal

I've blipped photos of this garden that I see from my window during the Spring and the Winter, but it looked so wonderfully colorful today that I thought I'd blip it again.

The rain held off for my weekly visit to May and I beat the rush hour traffic on my way home, so it was a good one.  We played cards again, and I got to meet Mender, the woman who runs the home, and chat with Whitney, May's social worker.  It turns out that, at this point, May is just a visitor to the recreation program - she gets 10 visits to decide if she wants to continue with the program.  We are all hoping that she will want to stay, but she likes to socialize and doesn't think any of the people she saw there are suitable.  May is prejudiced against virtually everyone, including anyone she sees as defective, and of course the folks in the program have a range of disabilities.  I'm hoping that she'll persevere at least for a while as she gets to know them.  

What I find interesting is that, through her rehab and in the adult family homes, she has somehow adjusted to living and working with Black and Hispanic people, given how she used to despise them.  The owner, her husband and couple of the staff at this home are Ethiopian, and so far that's not been a problem.  I think May is happier here than she's been anywhere for quite a while, and that makes her less likely to be abusive.  We'd like this to  be her last home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.