Flaneur

By NickMog

Trees and rooftops

Dear Subjects

I have fought this idea for a long time but it is with a heavy heart that I finally admit to the truth of the inescapable conclusion that Democracy Does Not Work. It is broken. It was a nice idea and we gave it our best shot. After much thought, I have come to the second, and equally inescapable, conclusion that the best form of government is by Benign Dictatorship and, further, that I am the best person for the job of Benign Dictator. I hear your questions and nascent objections and I hold up my hand in the manner of a kindly and loving but also strict Father. Just what is it about the word “Dictator” that you do not understand?

My first edict is that, from now on, no building may be higher than its neighbouring trees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.