"I'm not retiring. I am graduating. Today is my graduation day. Retirement means that you'll just go ahead and live on your laurels and surf all day in Oceanside. It ain't going to happen."  - Junior Seau (1969-2012)

This lovely lady has worked at our school for a remarkable 31 years and retired today.  In fact, she attended the school as a girl, so almost 40 years of her life have passed in these buildings. Extraordinary. A surprise farewell party (most folk are standing behind me here), was simultaneously a joyous and sad occasion. The cake - a "Hawaiin beach" -  reflects her next destination for a happy while.   

In other news, we had a special assembly to celebrate 29th October - Republic Day in Turkey (extra), and school is now closed till next Wednesday. With no plans, and plenty of pains (still), I have a lot to think about during these coming days and probably too much time to think about it in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.