A great day over /under the water

I knew it was going to be a lovely day so I was going a walk by the canal until the postman came. I needed a new clip for the filters  to go on my lens and they arrived in the post today. I was going to try some long shutter speed shots and decided I would brave driving under the Mersey to Perch Rock. I had seen that high tide was 1.30pm so I set off with tripod, filters, 2 cameras and a bit of trepidation to Liverpool and then through the tunnel. I made a few wrong turns, and got stuck in football traffic but made it in one piece. When I got out of the car I couldn't believe the icy wind so I layered up and got all my stuff and walked along the prom towards the lighthouse. I got sprayed as I walked and everyone was dressed for a lovely bitter cold winters day. The one piece of equipment I didn't have and was such a necessity was gloves! I tried to use the filters but with a strong wind and the tripod being blown I was not confident and the photos were rubbish so I gave up. My fingers were like blocks of ice. A coffee and sandwich in Morrissons then another walk. I drove to the far end of New Brighton prom and had a lovely walk, it was the river so not as cold as facing the Irish Sea. Saw this wreck of a pirate ship and a child and adult playing with a scarf in the wind, it was lovely to see.  A great journey home, so much easier than going and avoided driving near the football grounds. 
My friend Fiona popped in on her way home from Warrington so we had a great catch up. What a lovely day, I couldn't choose one photo so a collage. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.