Meat Market and Abattoir

I thought for a while there would be a derelict Sunday Blip to be had around here.

The old Cattle Market closed around 2001 and parts of the derelict site still survive surrounding the vacant land. Over the years several regeneration plans have surfaced but we are still waiting!

I surveyed it a month or two ago in connection with the sculpture project to locate fragments of the builkding containing these carved keystones including animal masks of a bull, a cow and a ram as well as some grotesque human masks.  Interestingly the police decided to take an interest in me while I was driving around the outside of the derelict ruin.  So this time I got in and out like lightning - just long enough for a quick grab shot.

The crest on the gate is the Glasgow Coat of Arms.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.