Choose Joy

By Energia

Early voting

Two years ago I voted on election day. I wore a white suit and went and celebrated with tacos. Many American women deliberately wore white suits in reference to the suffragette movement, as did Hillary Clinton and Geraldine Ferraro before her and Shirley Chisholm before her. 


The tacos were to laugh at the head of Latinos for Trump who said that if Hillary won there would be a taco truck on every corner. Some of us thought that would be great. I happily marched into the nearest Mexican restaurant after I voted and ordered tacos to go. I took a picture of myself in white eating them. 


I got together with my neighbor to watch the returns that night. She knows more about politics than I do so she realized that losing x and y state meant we would lose, so I realized we'd lost before we lost and went home, after sequential wigging out as realization after realization struck me concluding with, "he'll have the bomb!"


It wasn't any better the next day. 


Such incredibly high expectations dashed so very low. The odds were so strongly in favor of Hillary winning that many people didn't feel there was a point in voting. 


We will see what will happen. 


It does appear that this midterm more people understand they must vote and take nothing for granted. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.