0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

Mars & Murrie

I am conscious that it's less than 100 days to the end of this project and there are several types of shots or mini-projects I am yet to try. One of the goals of 365 was to expand my knowledge and try out new techniques. So...in an effort to remedy this situation, I tried some refraction photography today.

To attempt this you will need:

-Sweets (M&Ms in this case);
-Clear CD Case;
-White Paper/Card;
-Syringe;
-Macro Lens (or a lens which has macro capability);
-Tripod

(1) Create a tube with the paper/card and place it around the sweets. This will serve as a stand for the CD case (2) Using the syringe, create a series of tiny droplets on the case (3) Position the camera on the tripod directly overhead and manually set the focus to the refracted image, inside the droplets (4) Adjust the depth of field to suit your desired image effect. I over-exposed my image on purpose to create this effect.

My image is not the expected photo as I didn't have a dedicated macro lens, however it created a different type of effect which I thought was unique.

Our Daily Challenge (ODC): SWEET

Many thanks for looking/comments/stars!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.