Stabcraft

More of a record than an example of interesting photography, this one. To my utter shock I have discovered that I'm capable of sewing passably decent doll-sized clothes. I'd made attempts at sewing stuff in the past but they never went well. But then a couple of weeks ago I was itching to do something creative and decided to take another stab at it. (The word 'stab' is not used arbitrarily, by the way. My fingers have sustained injuries in my battle with needle and thread.)

These clothes aren't actually designed with Luca in mind but he has consented to model them for me.

The trousers came first and are a bit skewed in the crotch area due to my not knowing what the heck I was doing. Fortunately (intentionally!) you can't see the skew in this shot. The t-shirt isn't quite finished - it needs hemming around the bottom and the sleeve openings, plus I plan on adding a sort of loose turtleneck collar.

I wouldn't say I enjoy the action of sewing itself. I mean, I don't dislike it. But, what I really enjoy is the new capacity for creation. Being able to make things that I thought I was condemned to buying. It's gratifying.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.