hpx

By hpx

Man, it was weird

As further entertainment leading on from last weeks small procedure, I had a "dynamic MRI scan" today.

Neither tech seemed fazed when I turned up prepared in my gown, camera in hand. I could only take photos from the door way, or from behind their special viewing screen. All the magnetic stuff etc in the room can fry stray cameras.

At the last minute they asked me what music I wanted through the head phones. I was so taken with the background noise (reminiscent of a repetitive beat in a re-mix), I said RDU without thinking. (RDU is the local university radio station and I think this came as a surprise that a 40 + woman would request it!). Any DJ's out there should really think seriously of sampling a MRI.

I liked this shot the best with the slightly odd texture effect from the protective screen. I blew it out in Photoshop. It was such a weird (but interesting) experience it needed that.

We're looking 'down the tunnel' as such. You lay on the trolley thing, head on pillow, they strap the bits on where the scan needs to happen and you're poked in the tunnel so your're looking up at the top edge. And then the fun begins ;-)

At the end I spent a happy couple of minutes in awe watching my insides in action on screen. The techs commented that they had enjoyed the music (a remix or something-or-other) but wondered about the choice for me.

In lieu of Pink Floyd's 'Dark side of the moon', it was music fitting of a very unusual experience.

The oddest thing of all is the large 'GE' logo out of view high up on the scanner. Yes, the people who make jugs and toasters make MRI scanners too.

And that folks was NZ $800 of entertainment ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.